INTERNATIONAL KICK-OFF WORKSHOP

ADVANCING A

NEXUS APPROACH

TO THE SUSTAINABLE

MANAGEMENT OF

WATER, SOIL AND WASTE

11-12 NOVEMBER 2013

DÜLFERSAAL, TECHNISCHE UNIVERSITÄT DRESDEN DRESDEN, GERMANY



LIST OF CONTRIBUTORS AND PARTICIPANTS



List of Contributors and Participants of International Kick-off workshop

Organization	#	Name	Function
UN - United Nations		- Traine	- Conceion
FAO	1	Ölcay Ünver	Principal Officer - Deputy
Food and Agriculture Organisation			Director
UNCCD United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification	2	Sergio A. Zelaya-Bonilla	Coordinator Policy Advocacy on Global Issues and Platforms
UNEP United Nations Environment Programme	3	Sunday Leonard	Programme Officer
UNESCO-IHE United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization - Institute for Water Education	4	Stefan Uhlenbrook	Vice Rector Academic and Student Affairs
UN-HABITAT The United Nations Human Settlements Programme	5	Graham Alabaster	Chief Waste Management & Sanitation, Urban Basic Services Branch
UNW-DPC UN Water Decade Programme on Capacity Development	6	Jens Liebe	Programme Officer
UNU – United Nations University			
UNU-EHS Institute for Environment and Human Security	7	Zita Sebesvari	Associate Academic Officer
UNU-INRA	8	Elias Ayuk	Director
Institute for Natural Resources in Africa	9	Effiom Oku	Senior Research Fellow
UNU-INWEH Institute for Water, Environment and Health	10	Manzoor Qadir	Senior Research Fellow
UNU-ISP Institute for Sustainability and Peace	11	Ruediger Kuehr	Head of Operating Unit SCYCLE
UNU-MERIT Maastricht Economic and Social Research Institute on Innovation and Technology	12	Dorcas Mbuvi	Researcher
International Organizations		I	
African Development Bank - AfDB East Asia Regional Center (EARC)	13	Sheikh Javed Ahmed	Chief Water Resources Engineer
CEDARE Center for Environment and Development for the Arab Region and Europe	14	Khaled Abu-Zeid	Regional Programme Manager
EWI East West Institute	15	Michele Ferenz	Director of the Food, Water, and Energy Nexus Program
GWP Global Water Partnership	16	Danka Thalmeinerova	Senior Knowledge Management Officer
GWSP Global Water System Project	17	Anik Bhaduri	Executive Officer

Organization	#	Name	Function
IWMI	18	Pay Drechsel	Principal Scientist, Theme
International Water Management Institute	19	Timothy O. Williams	Leader Director, IWMI Africa
Universities and Institutes		,	,
Ohio State University	20	Rattan Lal	Director, Carbon Mgt. & Sequestration Center
The Cyprus Institute	21	Manfred Lange	Director, Energy, Environment and Water Research Center (EEWRC)
University of Arizona	22	Christopher Scott	Associate Professor
Imperial College London	23	Čedo Maksimović	Head of Urban Water Research Group, Department of Civil Engineering
University of Nairobi	24	Francis Gichuki	Professor for Irrigation and Drainage
University of Mauritius	25	Vikram Seebaluck	Senior Lecturer and Head Department of Chemical & Environmental Engineering
University of the Free State	26	Andries Jordaan	Director, DiMTEC-UFS
Wageningen University	27	Johan Bouma	Em. Prof. Soil Science
University of Zürich	28	Rolf Jakobi	Professor in innovation management, lecturer
German Ministries and Organizations			
BMBF Federal Ministry of Education and Research	29	Klaus Uckel	Head of division for Basic Policy Issues and International Strategy
	30	Helmut Löwe	Deputy Head of Division "Resources and Sustainability"
	31	Claudia Bernarding	Devision International Strategy
BMBF -IPSWaT International Postgraduate Studies in Water Technologies	32	Cornelia Parisius	IPSWaT coordination, PT- DLR, European and International Cooperation
	33	Jovana Husemann (Serbia)	IPSWaT – University of Stuttgart
	34	Alisher Mirzabaev (Usbekistan)	IPSWaT – University of Bonn
	35	Lulu Zhang (China)	IPSWaT – TU Dresden
	36	Rania AbdallaBabikerSaad (Sudan)	IPSWaT – University of Halle-Wittenberg
	37	JohannyArilexis Pérez Sierra (Dominican Republic)	IPSWaT – University of Stuttgart

	38	Maria Alejandra Arias Escobar (Colombia)	IPSWaT – University of Bonn
	39	Yohannis Birhanu Tadesse (Ethiopia)	IPSWaT – University of Hamburg
	40	Shobana Srinivasan (India)	IPSWaT – University of Hamburg
	41	Gabriela Margarita Espinosa Guiérrez (Mexico)	IPSWaT – University of Hamburg
	42	Firas Al Janabi (Iraq)	IPSWaT – TU Dresden
	43	Emilienne Tingwey (Cameroon)	IPSWaT – RENAC Berlin
BMU Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety	44	Thomas Strathenwerth	Head of Division "General, Fundamental, International and European Aspects of Water Management"
	45	Verena Klinger-Dering	Division "General, Fundamental, International and European Aspects of Water Management"
BMZ Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development	46	Leveke Neumann	Division 313 (Water; Energy; Urban development; Geosciences sector)
SMWK Saxon State Ministry for Higher Education, Research and the Arts	47	Markus Faller	Head of Division
BGR Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources	48	Thomas Himmelsbach	Head of Sub-Department Groundwater Resources - Quality and Dynamics
DIE German Development Institute	49	Waltina Scheumann	Senior Reseracher, Environmental Policy and Natural Resources Management
DWA German Association for Water, Wastewater and Waste	50	Rüdiger Heidebrecht	Head of Department Training and intern. Cooperation
GIZ Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit	51	Sophie Müller	Section International Water Policy; Department Water, Energy and Transport
	52	Bernhard Müller	Director
IOER Leibniz Institute of Ecological Urban and Regional Development	53	Jochen Schanze	Head of Department
regional pevelopment	54	Wolfgang Wende	Head of Department
	55	Roland Müller	Head of Department
UFZ	56	Steffen Niemann	Senior Researcher
Helmholtz Zentrum für Umweltforschung	57	Elisabeth Krüger	Coordinator Helmholtz Water Network

Organization		Name	Function
ZEF	58	Joachim von Braun	Director
Center for Development Research			
Member States		L	
India	59	Deepak Sanan	Additional Chief Secretary, Agriculture,Government of Himachal Pradesh
Mongolia	60	Dorjsuren ARIUNTUYA	Officer International Cooperation of the Ministry of Environment and Green Development
Republic of Korea	61	Ilyoung Oh	1st Secretary, Environment Attaché, Embassy in Berlin
Tanzania	62	Joash E. Nyitambe	Head of Information & Communication Technology Unit, Ministry of Water
Uganda	63	Flavia Nabugere	Minister of State for Water and Environment
NGOs and international experts			
CED Centre for Environment and Development	64	Uchita de Zoysa	Executive Director
WAMTI Indonesian Farmers and Fishers Society Organization	65	Agusdin Pulungan	President
	66	Mario Suardi	Consultant
Convening organizations			
	67	Reza Ardakanian	Director
UNU-FLORES United Nations University - Institute for Integrated Management of Material Fluxes and of Resources	68	Stephan Hülsmann	Academic Officer Systems and Flux Analysis
	69	Mathew Kurian	Academic Officer Capacity Development and Governance
	70	Mari Ito	Academic Officer Water Resources Management
	71	Kai Schwärzel	Academic Officer Soil and Land-use Management
	72	Hiroshan Hettiarachchi	Academic Officer Waste Management
TUD Technische Universität Dresden	73	Susanne Strahringer	Vice-Rector for Academic and International Affairs
	74	Karl-Heinz Feger	Dean, Faculty of Environmental Sciences
	75	Christian Bernhofer	Vice Dean, Faculty of Environmental Sciences
	76	Peter Krebs	Director, Institute for Urban Water Management
	77	Jürgen Pretzsch	Chair of Tropical Forestry
	78	Manfred Buchroithner	Director, Institute of Cartography
i	79	Fritz Haubold	Senior Researcher, Chair of

		Physical Geography
80	Elmar Csaplovics	Chair of Remote Sensing
81	Niels Schütze	Acting Chair of Hydrology
82	Rolf Baur	Course Director, CIPSEM
83	Marco Leidel	Institute of Hydrology and
		Meteorology